Driving School

How Old Do You Have To Be To Enroll in Teen Driving School?

Enrolling in a teen driving school is one of the initial steps toward getting a driver’s license. Before signing up for any driving program, it is good to understand the age requirements for admission. Teen driving schools have a minimum age requirement of 15 or 16 years old, depending on the state.

Through driving school, teen students get a chance to gain a basic understanding of road safety before they handle the responsibility of driving. Driving schools may have different requirements depending on location. Be sure to research the laws and regulations in your area. Here is a deeper look into the age requirements for teen driving schools in different locations.

General Requirements for Enrolling in Teen Driving School

Before enrolling in a driving school for teens, students must meet several general requirements. The most important requirements include being a resident of their state and a United States citizen. Another important requirement is the driving student’s age. The age requirement for enrolling in a teen driving school varies by state. In most states, like Washington and Florida, students can receive their learner’s permit and take classes when they are 15. In California and Arizona, teen students must be 15 years and six months to apply for a learner’s permit. Some states, like Iowa and Kansas, allow teens who are 14 to receive their permits and start driving school. In New York and New Jersey, teens must be 16 years old to get a permit and enroll in classes.

Exceptions to Minimum Age Requirements

The general rule for most states is that teens must be of a certain age before they can enroll in a driving school. There are certain exceptions to this requirement depending on the life situations of the teen students.

Hardship Licenses: Some states allow teens with unique or severe circumstances to obtain a hardship driving license after attending driving lessons. These licenses enable them to drive for specific purposes before they reach the minimum age for a standard driver’s license. Only teens who need to drive to work, school, or medical appointments and do not have access to public transportation or other means of transportation can get these licenses. Other restrictions for these licenses, including mileage or distance parameters and who can be in the vehicle with the underage driver, depend on the state of residence.

Out-of-State Licenses: Teens with a driver’s license from another state may be able to enroll in driving school in their new state of residence before reaching the minimum age requirement of that state. Each state has unique age and licensing requirements. Teens with out-of-state licenses may need to complete additional requirements or courses before they become eligible for a license in their new state.

Other Considerations for Teen Drivers

Teen drivers must also complete supervised driving practice hours before enrolling in driving school. Teen drivers in California must complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice before enrolling. These hours include 10 hours of nighttime driving. Students also need to have a valid learner’s permit before signing up for driving school. To get a learner’s permit, you need to:

  • Provide a signed/notarized parental consent form if you are under 18
  • Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course and provide proof of completion
  • Verify your identity and citizenship status by providing the relevant documentation.
  • Get a score of 80% or higher on the written exam.

Invest in Your Teen’s Future as a Safe Driver Today

If your teen is ready to start driving, look for a high-quality driving school in your area. Check your state’s age requirements for a learner’s permit, and help them study for the permit exam. Once your teen has obtained their permit, help them meet their required driving hours. Enroll your teen in driving school today to help them become a safe driver in the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *